The New Brunswick – Prince Edward Island Major Midget AAA Hockey League came into being in 2002 when
Hockey NB and Hockey PEI decided there should be one top development midget league for the two provinces.

At that same point, Hockey Canada decided that midget hockey should encompass
those from 15-17 years of age which expanded the number of potential players.

It was decided there should be four teams in New Brunswick located in Fredericton,
Miramichi, Moncton and Saint John and two teams from PEI based in Charlottetown and Cornwall.